Whistle Down the Wind

Book by: Patricia Knop and Gail Edwards
Music by: Andrew Lloyd Webber
Lyrics by: Jim Steinman

directed by: Starshine stanfield
Music Direction by: barbara macko
Choreography by: amanda bonilla

s_1008_mainBased on the novel by Mary Hayley Bell and subsequent Richard Attenborough-produced film, Whistle Down the Wind follows the fortunes of a fugitive caught between the prejudice of adults and the innocence of the young. Andrew Lloyd Webber and Jim Steinman, together with Patricia Knop and Gale Edwards (co-book writers with Andrew Lloyd Webber) reset the original story in Louisiana in 1959. Whistle Down the Wind revolves around the time and place where the word teenager was invented. Swallow, a 15 year-old-girl growing up in America’s deep South in the fifties, discovers a mysterious man hiding out in a barn. When she asks who he is and the first words he utters are “Jesus Christ”, it’s as if all her prayers have been answered. Swallow and the town’s other children vow to protect the stranger from the world that waits outside – the townspeople who are determined to catch a fugitive hiding it their midst. As fantasy and reality collide, Swallow is torn between the two and begins to discover who she is and where she is going. Andrew Lloyd Webber’s emotive score combines hauntingly beautiful love songs and explosive rock music with lyrics by acclaimed rock’n’roll songwriter Jim Steinman. The score contrasts the relentless influence of the modern world with the traditional values of the old days – something which the community at the heart of Whistle Down the Wind yearns to return to. After successfully playing at the Aldwych Theatre in London for over two years, Whistle Down the Wind undertook two UK tours as well as touring the USA from 2007-2008.

Recommended for ages 13+ for mild adult language, adult content, and violence.


The Man: Spencer Estes
Swallow: Amanda Piehler
Boone: Scott Piehler
Brat: Melanie Fox
Poor Baby: JJ Jones
Edward: Kyle Floyd
Candy: Kendal Buckner
Amos: Austin Hale
The Snake Preacher: Hernan Leon
Earl: Davis Clark
Charity: Marianna Borja
The Preacher: Matt Davis
Elizabeth: Madelyn Greene
Vikki: Makenna Greene
The Sherriff: Jeff LeCraw
Townsperson 1: Lucien Lockhart
Townsperson 2: Heather Murray
Ramona: Jisu Stansfield
Curly: Ashley Blair




mattdavisGreene - Maddie112
Greene - Kenna122jefflecraw-beard-Feb2015-11-196x300murrayHeatherashleyblair-211x300










 Creative Team

Producer: Jessica Moskowitz
Director: Starshine Stanfield
Music Director: Barbara Macko
Assistant Music Director: Michael Parker
Choreographer: Amanda Bonilla
Fight Choreographer: Becca Parker*
Stage Manager: Katie Bates
Assistant Stage Manager: Andrea Epps
Set Design: Becca Parker*
Lighting Design: Chelsea Martin*
Lighting Technician: Charles Martin
Sound Design: John Morris*
Sound Technician: Mysti Parker
Properties Mistress: Meredith Jones
Costume Design: Dawn Burke and Andrea Hermitt
Makeup Design: Sam Pritchard
Run Crew: Troy Jones, Meredith Jones and Daniel O’Brien
Production Photography: Vicky Mosley Gregory
Program/Publicity: Meredith Jones
Box Office Manager: Becca Parker*
House Manager: Becca Parker*

jessicamoskowitzbarbaramackoMichael_P_resize.BeccaParkerkbatesheadshot-2-768x510 (1)chelseamartinJohn-Morris-headshot-768x1007jonesMeredawnburkebwandreahermitt (1)1974415_10203768001305293_7434311272892749253_o








The Orchestra

Keys: Becca Parker*
Violin: Kyle Lineberry
Cello: Katherine Garrett
Guitar: Dan LaRoche
Bass: John Morris
Flute: Rachel Reaves
Drums: Don Muir






*Indicates current or previous LAT Pro Company member.